A shot of the poster made by the members of Hotel and Restaurant Management Society for the 2nd PCOHMS convention © Ivy Fernandez
One of the most dynamic and ever ambivalent industries in the world happens to be the hospitality industry. It provides economic and social developments and relations between countries and because of this, the Philippine Council of Hospitality Management Students (PCOHMS) was created so as to create a brighter future for the industry, in the hands of young professionals.
Board of Director in charge, Prof. Evangeline Timbang, president of COHREP, Dr. Aquino and the president of PCOHMS, Pio Sanchez along with the Board of Directors © Mitzi Mercado
Formerly known as the National Federation of HRM students, the president of the Council of Hotel and Restaurant Educators of the Philippines (COHREP), Dr. Maria Christina G. Aquino, spearheaded the reactivation of this organization last July 16, 2011 during the 1st Hospitality Management Student Leaders’ Conference held at the University of Santo Tomas. Such initiative was taken as the department has full trust and belief that having a national organization of Hotel and Restaurant Management students would substantiate ties between the future leaders of the hospitality industry along with interaction and connection towards different elements that they would develop, thus bringing forth meaningful projects that can further develop the strengths and skills of its members.

It has been two years since the founders of the board of directors have been elected due to their transparent potential, and the time has come for a new set of student leaders who are willing to take up the responsibility. 

President and Vice President External, Edbert Jay Armocilla and Marychris delos Santos as Participants of the 2nd PCOHMS convention. © Mitzi Mercad
Adviser of HRMS, Asst. Prof. Pio Castillo hosting various activities for the participants of PCOHMS © Ivy Fernandez

This year, the Hotel and Restaurant Management Society (HRMS) of the College of Tourism and Hospitality Management (CTHM) of the University of Santo Tomas (UST) was proud to host this convention last July 27, 2013. Popularly known as PCOHMS, presidents from Hotel and Restaurant Management organizations from different universities attended this event wherein different speakers and officers of the Council gave seminars and lectures on effective leadership. 
Left, Various HRM students from different universities focused on the lectures being given. © John Paul Caparas
HRM students from various universities confirming their attendance. © John Paul Caparas
Among the different schools that have confirmed their presence at PCOHMS were Lyceum of the Philippines Cavite and Batangas, De La Salle University-Dasmarinas, UP Diliman and Far Eastern University to name a few.  The convention lasted from 8AM till 5PM.  The agenda for the day included a team building activity, leadership training seminar and similar activities that aims to improve the communication and people skills of the participants.

The COHREP President, Dr. Maria Christina G. Aquino graced the event by delivering a brief inspirational speech to the participants. Along with Assoc. Prof Evangeline E. Timbang, Board Director in charge of PCOHMS, Dr. Aquino awarded the officers and board members with a certificate of appreciation for the exceptional service they have rendered to the organization as the founding board of directors. 
Clockwise from top left: Dr. Maria Aquino, Mr. Daryl Cornell and Dean Rowena Magsaysay of National University giving their lectures about effective leadership © John Real Gadon and Ivy Fernandez

Other speakers present were Mr. Daryl Ace V. Cornell, Director of Research at the Polytechnic University of the Philippines, and Ms. Rowena P. Magsaysay, Dean of the College of Hospitality Management at the National University wherein they delivered their talks emphasizing the importance of effective leadership. They also gave their professional perspective and experience regarding being open and ready for change, for knowing what it is like being in the footsteps of a follower and how planning can yield the best results.
The different teambuilding activities hosted by HRMS and the adviser of HRMS, Asst. Prof. Pio Castillo © Ivy Fernandez, Mitzi Mercado and John Paul Caparas

After the teambuilding activities and workshops facilitated by the outgoing Board of Directors to further develop the bond between the participants and to give them a chance to get to know each other better, the election proper was then held.

Based on the results of the election, the fifteen (15) newly elected members of the Board of Directors of PCOHMS for Academic Year 2013-2014 are the following:

Jhon Paulo C. Mallari of Cavite State University,

Christian Leo M. Flameño of Colegio de San Juan de Letran,

Marie Caroline D. Cabrejas of De La Salle University- Dasmariñas,

Aaron Aldrin V. Borja of Far Eastern University,

James D. Pacatang of Lyceum of Alabang,

Juan Paolo Masigan of Lyceum of the Philippines University-Cavite,

Justine James C. Bauza of Lyceum of the Philippines University, Manila

Christine Aira Y. De Ramos of Malayan Colleges of Laguna,

Rena Alyssa S. Soriano of Manila Tytana Colleges,

Allan E. Pascual of National University,

Alexander R. Alivio of Philippine Women’s University,

Joshua R. Huete of Polytechnic University of the Philippines,

Zarlyn C. Alidon of St. Jude College,

Edbert Jay DC. Armocilla of University of Santo Tomas and

Louise Andrew V. Quicho of University of the Philippines-Diliman

The outgoing President, Mr. Pio A. Sanchez, in his accomplishment report gave a speech expressing sincere gratitude to the COHREP members for the undying support and effort that they have exerted and extended towards the organization for the past two years. As he had stated in his speech, “The entire COHREP family will forever be etched in the history of our young organization as the people who believed in the potential of the hospitality student leaders of today in making a difference in the hospitality industry in our own way”.